Skip to content

Not my Business

May 25, 2014

UK-Independence-Party-UKIP-leader-Nigel-Farage

They picked Akanni up one morning
Beat him soft like clay
And stuffed him down the belly
Of a waiting jeep.

What business of mine is it
So long they don’t take the yam
From my savouring mouth?

They came one night
Booted the whole house awake
And dragged Danladi out,
Then off to a lengthy absence.

What business of mine is it
So long they don’t take the yam
From my savouring mouth?

Chinwe went to work one day
Only to find her job was gone:
No query, no warning, no probe –
Just one neat sack for a stainless record.

What business of mine is it
So long they don’t take the yam
From my savouring mouth?

And then one evening
As I sat down to eat my yam
A knock on the door froze my hungry hand.

The jeep was waiting on my bewildered lawn
Waiting, waiting in its usual silence.

I first read this at the age of 12 and its impact on me has been fundamental in making me who I am. By  Niyi Osundare, it has parallels to Martin Niemöller’s First they came

For a while I even took an interest in just how parties like the Nazi party of Germany came to power, past what they taught us in our history lessons, because I was taught that we wanted to avoid those times ever happening again.

So today is a good or a bad day, depending upon your feelings towards UKIP. Whilst it seems they are actually losing their share of the vote in the MEP elections, nevertheless, their triumph over the Conservatives and the long overdue dismantling of the Lib-Dems has a lot of people thinking. Planning. Plotting.

Now that UKIP have proven to be a party that people appear to be voting for, be it due to apathy on the behalf of many, a feeling that the party can speak for those who won’t buy into the two party dynamic of London or that there are just a whole bunch of people who are afraid of change, they seem to be doing something right.

Even if its just for existing to BE the party that people can pour their fear into.

But I’ll never vote for fascism, even if its a stealthy form of it like the two main parties have been pushing for since Thatcherism. I’ll fight it Because I remember Not My Business. I remember seeing the pictures of Nazi Germany.

And because we’re getting closer to those pictures everyday with our apathy.

From → Rant

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

